The Ramanujan Fellowship is a scheme instituted by the Science and Engineering Research Board (SERB) under Department of Science and Technology (DST).  This fellowship is meant for brilliant Indian scientists and engineers from outside India who want to transition back to Indian academia, and take up scientific research positions in India.

Sci-ROI will be organizing a webinar on 4th June, Saturday focusing on the grant-writing process for this fellowship. We will have invited talks from the faculty who received the Ramanujan fellowship in the previous years followed by a panel discussion with representatives from the host institutions and DST-SERB. We hope to understand the perspectives of all three levels – the applicants, host institutes, and funding agency involved in the application/review process of this fellowship for the benefit of our members.

If you could not register on Zoom or the webinar reaches capacity, you can watch the livestreaming of the webinar on Youtube as well.

Webinar Schedule:

June 4th, 2022, Saturday
10:00 AM – 12:00 PM EST
7:30 PM – 9:30 PM IST



Time (IST) Event
7:30 pm IST Introduction
7:40 pm IST Presentation by Dr. Tanmay Banerjee, Ramanujan Fellow, BITS-PILANI (Awardee)
8:05 pm IST Presentation by Dr. Neha Garg, Assistant Professor, BHU (Awardee)
8:30 pm IST Panel Discussion- Awardees, Host Institutes and DST Representative



As part of the grant writing workshop series to guide aspiring candidates applying for transition/ faculty fellowships in India, we have previously done two webinars on DST-Inspire faculty and Ramalingaswami fellowships which were attended and well received by more than 400 participants from all over the world. We have the past recorded events available on our YouTube Channel.

DST Inspire faculty fellowship
Ramalingaswamy Re-entry fellowship

Confirmed Speakers

Dean (Research) Faculty of Medical & Health Sciences SRM Institute of Science & Technology Read More...

Janardhanan, Dr Rajiv

Assistant Professor Ramanujan Fellow (2016-2019) Banaras Hindu University

Garg, Dr. Neha

Ramanujan Fellow (2021) Birla Institute of Technology and Science, Pilani Read More...

Banerjee, Dr. Tanmay

Professor and Head Department of Biotechnology Bhupat and Jyoti Mehta School of Biosciences IIT Madras, India Read More...

Jayaraman, Dr. Guhan

Scientist F at DST-SERB

Kumar S, Dr. Praveen

Engage Today!